Ordinance could change Bernalillo County Planning Commission

ALBUQUERQUE (KRQE) — The County Planning Commission is the second most powerful commission in Bernalillo County . The board determines what areas could see development, from residential to commercial and even where roads will be built.

But now, one part of the county has an edge over the rest.

Bernalillo County Commissioner Wayne Johnson says the valley dominates the board of seven. Both the north and south valley have two representatives. The other three districts only have one.

"We're talking about what we develop and where we develop it, and that is of interest to the entire county, not just to two districts," Johnson said.

Currently districts one and two both have two appointees on the CPC. Districts three, four and five all have one appointee.

"It gives them a bigger advantage in setting the policy and planning for land use in the entire county, not just their district," Johnson said.

So to change that, Johnson's proposed rotating those two seats through the five districts, giving each district a chance at some point to have two representatives.

"I believe that every county resident should have adequate say or equal say to other county residents," Johnson said.

But Commissioner Art De La Cruz, who represents the south valley, says the board is balance because the valley represents many unincorporated residents.

"The lion's share of unincorporated residents have always lived in districts one and two," De La Cruz said in a phone interview. "My area is the south valley which is the largest. I have 60,000 unincorporated residents and all of their building/zoning issues go to the CPC."

This proposal comes before the county commissioners on Jan. 8.

Copyright 2014 KRQE TV. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Political Pulse

Did you like this article? Vote it up or down! And don't forget to add your comments below!

Like It
Don't Like It


We welcome your thoughtful comments. Be the first to participate in the discussion. All comments will display your username and avatar.


Add a Comment

Sign in or join now to post a comment. All comments will display your username and avatar.


New Mexico (change)

New Mexico is located in the southwestern region of the U.S. Inhabited by Native American populations for many centuries, New Mexico has also been part of Imperial Spain, part of Mexico, and a U.S. territory.
Offices & Officials

Governor: Susana Martinez
Lieutenant Governor: John Sanchez
Attorney General: Gary King
Secretary of State: Dianna J. Durán

Contacting the White House and Congress

Click the links below to get in touch with your elected officials.